Posted in My Footy Stuff/Banter

Ballon d’Or 2014: what Messi wore

Embedded image permalink

He didn’t win and I didn’t expect him to, but it has become customary for both fans and critics alike in the last three or four years, to see what Lionel Messi wore to the Ballon d’Or ceremony. I did not cover the ceremony this time around as I have too much on my plate, but the ceremony is becoming farce literally. I mean, if it’s only between Messi and Ronaldo every year, it’s a waste of time nominating other players.

I thank  for the photos. Well … for most.

Before we get to what the galaxy’s greatest player wore, look at what his girlfriend wore on the way to Zurich:

Embedded image permalink

Embedded image permalink

Whoa mama!

Leo caught up with former mate, Thierry Henry:

Embedded image permalink

And pre-Ballon d’Or photos:

Embedded image permalink

Embedded image permalink

Supporting the fight against Ebola:

Embedded image permalink

Attending the press conference:

Embedded image permalink

Leo on technology in football:

“More technology in football is a good thing. It can help to improve the game. I’d welcome it if we continue down that path.”

Leo on ending his career with current club:

“I don’t know what will happen or where I will be next year. Like Cristiano says, you never know.”

“Newell’s and Barça to be my only clubs? Don’t even know where I’ll be next year. You never know what will happen, less in football.”

MAKE UP YOUR MIND! YER … YER … OOH YOU!

On Cristiano:

“What Cristiano did this season was really impressive. He had an extraordinary year.”

“Cristiano will be one of the best of all time. I would have loved to play with him.”

Cris would like to play with Messi and Neuer:

“It would be interesting to play with Neuer and Messi on the same team.”

Embedded image permalink

Embedded image permalink

Cris holding onto Leo as if he doesn’t want Neuer to infect him or something. Wanna take a look at that again?

Embedded image permalink

On a second thought, they’re like, I didn’t even know he was relative. Talk about one awkward family photo!

Embedded image permalink

That’s an awesome photo!

And finally, this is what Leo wore:

Embedded image permalink

Embedded image permalink

Embedded image permalink

Embedded image permalink

Embedded image permalink

What a cute pair! Put a ring on it already, Leo.

Embedded image permalink

Nice, eh?

Backstage:

Embedded image permalink

Embedded image permalink

Inside:

Embedded image permalink

Forward in the Team of the Year:

Embedded image permalink

Embedded image permalink

Embedded image permalink

Embedded image permalink

Embedded image permalink

Boys! Thirsty aren’t we?

Embedded image permalink

Returning:

Embedded image permalink

And congrats to the Ballon d’Or 2014 winner, Mr. Cristiano Ronaldo, although I still feel he didn’t deserve it. I wonder how the Cressi fan girls and boys feel about this?

Couldn’t help but molest him, huh Cris? Even got the lady in back jealous wishing it was her touching on Leo.

Author:

My heart simply beats football.

6 thoughts on “Ballon d’Or 2014: what Messi wore

  1. Getting caught up on all your posts! 🙂 I was pulling for Neuer to win, just because I feel like goalkeepers don’t get the respect that they deserve and he really is quite incredible to watch. I knew it wasn’t going to happen, but oh well…

    1. Neuer was also my choice and I absolutely agree with you about goalies not getting the respect they deserve. Neuer is amazing, but Hugo Lloris has my heart at the moment. He’s my ultimate favorite and sometimes, he’s the hardest working man on the pitch.

      1. Although I think I might be forced to renounce my status as an Arsenal fan for saying so, I’m a huge fan of Lloris. I don’t know if I’d rate him higher than Neuer, but he’s certainly the best in the Premier League. Better than DeGea and better than Courtois, who get a lot more press.

  2. No need to renounce your status. A lot of Arsenal fans like him and really, what’s not to like? He is the best in the PL and Les Bleus is extremely lucky to have him (I know I am ever loving grateful!) and if I was mighty bias I would go ahead and put Lloris ahead of him, Neuer is the best in the world, although for some strange reason, I’ll like to see Neuer in the PL or even in the Liga. Yet, Lloris does it for me. He’s the goalie I could never wait to see in goal no matter the outcome in the end.

    Sorry, went overboard and almost started to write sonnets about Oogie. ^^

    1. I like the idea of Oogie sonnets. Future blog post? 😀

      I felt sort of ripped off that the France-Germany game at the World Cup was kind of lacklustre. I was all prepared to see some amazing moves at the back and great saves, but neither team really seemed at their best and that meant neither keeper had much to do.

      1. This reply is late. Forgive me? I didn’t even realized that I didn’t reply back to this one.

        Future blog post? I am thinking about it. And I do agree with you. I felt rip off myself because I know France could have done more than in their performance against Germany. I had faith in them and had they put in a great shift, they would have won and put the haters to bed. But no! Les Bleus just had to be so medicore that day.

Leave a Reply

