Posted in FC Barcelona, La Liga, Man of the Weekend

Man of the Weekend: Jérémy Mathieu

I haven’t been updating my blog as often as I would like because I haven’t been watching lots of matches like before. Recently, I’ve been thinking about closing shop to focus on my writing, but I’ve decided to give it another year as Euro 2016 is coming up. Therefore, I’ve decided to come up with this new category, Man of the Weekend. In this way I hope the blog can renew my interest on a whole new level.

Suàrez had a hat-trick, so did Gameiro, and Cavani now has 7 goals in the Ligue 1 (Zlatan too), but my Man of the Weekend was Jérémy Mathieu.

Lately, the Frenchman have come under pressure about his dip in form, but when he came on as a second-half substitute against Eibar at the Camp Nou, he shut haters up and renewed faith in the unbelievers. This is the Mathieu I know and love and although I was not too critical about his recent form, I wanted him to step up and show the world what he was still made of. Last evening was a great time to do just that. He was simply fantastic making those speedy runs, mazy dribbles and tackles. The only thing missing was a goal to complete his perfect evening.

I hope he can win Man of the Weekend again soon. 😛

Author:

My heart simply beats football.

Leave a Reply

